Office of Academic Affairs

Diversity Office

Diversity Office Mission Statement: The Diversity Office works to increase the diversity of the faculty, staff, and students so that the Centre community will more fully reflect the racial and ethnic diversity of a global society.

The primary responsibilities of the Diversity Office:

  • Recruitment and retention of faculty, staff, and students
  • Promoting campus diversity by working with the Diversity Student Union, the Admission Office, the Student Life Office, and Human Resources
  • Coordinating activities for the Annual Martin Luther King Celebration
  • Serving as a member of the Centre faculty
  • Involvement in community relations
  • Diversity and Community Committee: J.H. Atkins/Randy Hays (co-chairs), Andrea Abrams, David Anderson, Robert Bosco, Eva Cadavid, Ned Frazer, Agnes Gakpo, Mykol Hamilton, James Neyhouse, Patrick Noltemeyer, Nuria Sabate-Llobera, Mindy Wilson, Mona Wyatt, Tong Zhu

More about Diversity at Centre (PDF)

Science Research Opportunities for Minorities Flyer (PDF)


To contact the Office of Diversity with
      current and/or prospective student
      concerns, please complete the
      Student Contact Form and forward it
      to J. H. Atkins, 104 Wiseman, or
      e-mail him:

  J. H. Atkins
  • Assistant Vice President for Diversity
  • Associate Professor of Education